Re: Emotions & KM #emotions

Murray Jennex

Matt, you make the statement below about the huge consumption of business books and seminars and it struck me that just because people read them, it doesn't mean they can take that knowledge and put it into action.  We have had to do remote teaching during covid and I am surprised at how little people will read and turn it into action.  My students meet with me weekly via zoom, I present material, I go over it and show them how to use it, but I'm finding that few use it near as well as when this is done in a class.  I'm kind of surprised at this as unlike regular class, I post a zoom recording of what we do, and yet few are using it.  As an author as well as a teacher I like to think that by making knowledge available they will be able to use it.  I suspect there must be an emotional aspect to hearing material in person that is not being recognized.  I do know I can make good eye contact in person and get a read on what they think about the material that I can't do over zoom.  I also suspect this is true about simply reading material from a business book.  I've been following the conversation about and don't think much about safe spaces and such as I do this with students by pointing out that the safest space they will have is the classroom when compared to a work environment, doesn't seem to matter.  Making it stressful doesn't help either.  I'm seeing less than 30% engagement (probably about 20-25%).  So my bottom line questions are: (with respect to knowledge sharing and getting people to put knowledge in action)

what emotions are we missing?
how do we read/sense them?
how do we address these emotions and turn them into motivators?

what I'm seeing now is a focus on life and doing the daily things and while people want to change and improve by using knowledge, they either don't have the energy or time......murray jennex

-----Original Message-----
To: main@sikm.groups.io
Sent: Fri, Oct 16, 2020 11:12 am